Best office day I’ll have this year!

If working on a computer means you’re in the office then for the 27th February I must have had one of the best office spaces going anywhere.

Being a Monday it started with that long dawn haul south

1-rimg4375

Balloons at dawn over Hororata

Up in the Hakatere the weather was perfect with d’Archiac prominent away on the Main Divide

13-rimg5864

Strolling across the grassy plain

14-rimg5866

Hakatere basin looking into the Pott’s Valley

There were pale blue berries underfoot

Coprosma petriei

Coprosma petriei

At the head of a dry valley

16-rimg5875

What  I thought was a pretty awesome office

01-rimg5885

Logging into the Clearwater Kettles

But when I got to the next login point…wow

The Dell and the Gentians

Gentians around the Dell (Gentianella corymbifera?)

Which made me think of this….

reynolds-farmer-in-the-dell

And while I waited for the techy stuff to do its thing I noticed this native bee with it’s tongue down the throat of a late flowering willowherb.  It’s so small I couldn’t see how hairy those legs are until I got the photos home, positively pilose!  Click to enlarge

There’s a heap of small native bees, all black and a range of sizes but some have coloured hairs.  This is the first one I’ve seen with white hairs and so thick, it’s like an old man.

11-rimg5909-001

I had to find out why “Mrs Hairy Legs” popped straight into my head and here’s the answer, Crowded House, taking the piss on the Late Night Show in 1991, I wonder if they’d get away with that now or would they get deported?

Tim those trousers are terrible and “Do not touch certain parts of your body when on camera”

Then when  I was lunching I realised that I’d plonked down in a patch of the tiniest onion orchids

Microtis oligantha, onion orchid Hakatere

Microtis oligantha, onion orchid Hakatere

Moving on there was a patch of orange berries

Leucopogon nanum, hakatere

Leucopogon nanum, hakatere

Patotara, Leucopogon nanum, Pa = defensive structure, tara = prickles, defended with prickles

Prickly patotara, Leucopogon nanum

Prickly patotara, Leucopogon nanum

At the last stop

In the notes this is 'Deep Hole' and there are tales of ice-breaking through chest deep water to download the datalogger

In the notes this is ‘Deep Hole’ and there are tales of ice-breaking through chest deep water to download the datalogger

there was a different Gentian

05-rimg5935

Gentianella grisebachii or so I’m told

Now the spell is broken as it’s a long walk to the carpark and as I headed that way I came across….

Huh?.FYI the little white spot hard right in the distance is the car.

Huh?.FYI the little white spot hard right in the distance below the dark green, is the car.

It wasn’t there in the morning but closer inspection reveals, it’s a possum monitoring trapline.

09-rimg5943

It’s a strange way to set traps as any fur trapper well knows but there’s a science behind it.  By setting a given number of  traps in the prescribed manner for the prescribed number of nights then the population can be estimated and that can indicate if a control operation is warranted.

This entry was posted in Ashburton Lakes, Ecology, Environment and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best office day I’ll have this year!

  1. Rick says:

    Gorgeous subjects and pictures, man. That video though…I just deported myself for watching it-

    Like

Leave a Reply

